indice alfabetico - site map  I  immagini  I  articoli  I  elton in italy  I  testi in italiano  I  musicians & co.  I  concerti  I  discografia
forum  I  news   I  biografia  I  early days  I  friends I links  I  aggiornamenti  I  newsletter  I  contatti  I  varie  I  rarità  I  home
album I album secondari

  Elton John - Live In Australia  (1987)
Doppio album ricavato dal tour australiano con l'orchestra, che è stato distribuito anche in una versione video più completa, album molto apprezzato soprattutto dai fans.


1) Sixty Years On
2) I Need You To Turn To
3) The Greatest Discovery
4) Tonight
5) Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
6) The King Must Die
7) Take Me To The Pilot
8) Tiny Dancer
9) Have Mercy On The Criminal
10) Madman Across The Water
11) Candle In The Wind
12) Burn Down The Mission
13) Your Song
14) Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me

Stati Uniti:    24° posto
Inghilterra:    43° posto
Italia:    -- posto

da All Music Guide

The late '80s were wrought with equal measures of tremendous professional popularity and personal crisis for Elton John. As he would reveal later, this inspired double-LP live collection released in 1987 captures the artist at one of the best and worst times of his life. In fact, John cites the emotionally charged "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me" and "Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word" as triggering what would become a "severe mental breakdown," the results of nearly a decade of substance-fueled decadence. On top of it all and perhaps most tellingly is John's tattered voice. So dire was the situation that literally within weeks of the concert he would undergo a surgical procedure that could have easily ended his career had it failed. Perhaps the ultimate irony is that at this precise moment John was launching his re-association with MCA Records via this live career retrospective, which was simultaneously broadcast throughout the entire globe. Keeping all of that in mind, Elton John once again proved himself as a consummate showman, performing at the peak of his abilities. John's comparatively small combo is augmented on these tracks by the 88-piece Melbourne Symphony Orchestra under the direction of onetime bandmate James Newton Howard. There are a few surprisingly strong readings of early sides such as "60 Years On," "I Need You to Turn To," "The Greatest Discovery," and an edgy and soulful version of "The King Must Die." Other unexpected detours into John's catalog include the intimate desperation of "Tonight" from Blue Moves (1976) and "Have Mercy on the Criminal" from Don't Shoot Me I'm Only the Piano Player (1973). There are also the hits and enthusiast favorites "Tiny Dancer," "Your Song," "Candle in the Wind" (which was issued as a single and topped pop music charts worldwide), the previously mentioned "Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word," and "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me." The companion home video includes a few additional performances, such as the thoroughly inspiring "One Horse Town." While not entirely essential, Live in Australia is at its core an adeptly executed concert package.

Lindsay Planer


anno/label 1987 - Rocket (UK), MCA (USA) 
produzione Gus Dudgeon
arrangiamenti orchestrali James Newton Howard/Brad Dechter (basati sugli arrangiamenti originali di Paul Buckmaster)
studio registrato live il 14 dicembre 1986 al Sydney Entertainment Centre (Australia)
musicisti Charlie Morgan: batteria; David Paton: basso; Davey Johnstone: chitarre; Fred Mandel: tastiere; Jody Linscott, Ray Cooper: percussioni; Onward International Horns (Raul D'Oliveira, Paul Spong, David Bitelli e Rick Taylor): fiati; Shirley Lewis, Alan Carvel, Gordon Neville: cori; The Melbourne Shimphony Orchestra of Australian Broadcasting Corporation; Elton: piano
note registrazione live della parte orchestrale del tour Australiano del 1986.
voce roca, appena prima dell'operazione alle corde vocali, grande carrellata di classici.